Pages

Monday, June 1, 2009

Install or Remove a Font

Install or Remove a Font in Windows XP

This step-by-step article describes how to add and remove fonts in Windows XP. The following fonts are included with Windows XP and are installed on every computer:

• Courier New (TrueType, including Bold, Italic, and Bold Italic variations)
• Arial (TrueType, including Bold, Italic, and Bold Italic variations)
• Times New Roman (TrueType, including Bold, Italic, and Bold Italic variations)
• Symbol (TrueType)
• Wingdings (TrueType)
• MS Serif
• MS sans Serif

If any of the standard fonts that are included with Windows XP are missing, you can run Windows XP Setup again. Setup replaces missing or changed files. If these standard fonts are missing, other Windows XP files may also be missing, and Setup corrects these problems.

Adding New Fonts

Windows supports TrueType fonts or fonts that are specially designed for Windows, and these fonts are available commercially. Some programs also include special fonts that are installed as part of the program installation. Additionally, printers frequently come with TrueType or special Windows fonts. Follow the directions that come with these products to install these fonts.

To manually install or re-install a font:

• Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
• Double-click the Fonts folder.
• On the File menu, click Install New Font.
• In the Drives box, click the drive that has the floppy or CD-ROM that contains the fonts you want to add. If you are installing fonts from a floppy disk, this is typically drive A or drive B. If you are installing the fonts from a compact disc, your CD-ROM drive is typically drive D.

• Double-click the folder that contains the fonts.
• Click the font you want to add. To select more than one font at a time, press and hold down the Ctrl key while you click each font.
• Click to select the Copy Fonts to Fonts Folder check box. The Windows\Fonts folder is where the fonts that are included with Windows XP are stored.
• Click OK.

Removing Fonts

To completely remove fonts from the hard disk:
• Click Start, point to Settings, and then click Control Panel.
• Double-click the Fonts folder.
• Click the font you want to remove. To select more than one font at a time, press and hold down the Ctrl key while you click each font.
• On the File menu, click Delete.
• When you receive the "Are you sure you want to delete these fonts?" prompt, click Yes.

To prevent a font from loading without removing it from the hard disk, move the font from the Fonts folder into another folder. Use this method for troubleshooting purposes.

This process does not completely remove the font, because font registry information is not deleted. However, it prevents the font from loading.

Default Icons for Folders

How to Change the Default Icons for Folders

You cannot customize the default icon for a folder in Windows; however, you can make a shortcut to a folder and change the look of the shortcut icon. To make a shortcut to a folder and change the look of the shortcut icon:

• Open My Computer and browse to the folder that you want.

•Right-click the folder, and then click Create Shortcut. If you are prompted to place the shortcut on the desktop, click yes.

•Right-click the shortcut you created, clicks Properties, and then clicks Change Icon.

•Click the picture of the icon you would like the shortcut to use, click OK, and then click OK.

No Icons Available

If you click Change Icon, and there are no icons available, use the Browse button to find Shell32.dll:

•Right-click the shortcut you created, clicks Properties, and then click Change Icon.
•Click Browse, type

%systemroot%\system32\shell32.dll

In the File name box, click Open, click the icon you want to use, click OK, and then click OK.

Column Settings in Windows Explorer

How to Change Column Settings in Windows Explorer

This article describes how to change the column settings in Windows Explorer. To change which columns is displayed, or change the width or order of the windows and folders in Windows Explorer:

• In Windows Explorer, click the folder, and then click Choose Details on the View menu.
• Click to select the check box of each item that you would like to add to the current view, or click to clear the check boxes of items that you do not want.
• To reorder your columns, click the item (but do not clear the check box), and then click Move Up or Move Down until the items are in the order that you want. Click OK.

Note: You must click Details on the View menu in order to display the details of the files in the selected folder.

To change the width of the columns, use the appropriate method:

Method One

• On the View menu, click Choose Details, and then click the name of the column that you want to adjust. In the Width of selected column (in pixels) box, enter the size that you want, and then click OK.

Method Two

• Widen columns manually by positioning the mouse pointer between two border buttons of the column headings, the pointer turns into a double arrowhead.
• Click and hold the left mouse button, and then drag the column to the desired width.